Ethiopians triumph in the Okpekpe race.


Ethiopians triumph in the Okpekpe race.
Ethiopians swept the podium at the eighth Okpekpe International 10km Road Race in Okpekpe on Saturday, as expected.

Jason Hadi won the men's elite category with a time of 29.05 minutes and a prize of $13,000. Elvis Cheboi of Kenya came back 15 seconds later to take silver and $8,000 in prize money.

Another Ethiopian, Bereket Nego, came in third with a time of 29:30 minutes and $5,000 in prize money.

The story was similar in the women's elites class, with Ethiopian athletes winning gold in 33.09 minutes and Kenyan athletes taking silver and bronze. Dorcas Kimeli (33:33) and Abigael Mutai (33:53) won silver and bronze, respectively, with Anchinain Dessie claiming gold.

The winning award is the same for both men and women.

In the Nigerian class, Ismael Sadiq won gold with a time of 31:12 minutes and N500,000.00, followed by Adamu Muazu in second place with a time of 31:15 minutes and N300,000 prize money, and Emmanuel Gyang in third place with a time of 31:32 minutes and N200,000.00 prize money.

Rose Akuahe won the Nigerian elite class in 36:40 minutes, with silver and bronze going to Abiye Joy (37:59) and Patience Datylop (38:07). The prize money for the women was also the same as for the men.


Post a Comment


Start a discussion...

Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !