PDP's Adeleke is proclaimed the winner of the Osun election by INEC.


The Peoples Democratic Party's senator Ademola Adeleke has been proclaimed the victor of the Osun governorship race by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

In a hotly contested campaign, Adeleke defeated the incumbent, Adegboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress, with a total of 403,371 votes, according to Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, the returning officer for the election and vice chancellor of the University of Lagos.

Adeleke Ademola Jackson Nurudeen, of the PDP, having complied with the law's requirements, is hereby pronounced the winner and he is re-elected, he announced on behalf of the INEC chairman.

The PDP won 17 of the state's 30 local government areas, while the APC took 13 of them, according to the total votes tallied by the electoral umpire.

Atakumosa West, Olorunda, Ilesa West, Obokun, Oriade, Orolu, Ife North, Irepodun, and Ejigbo LGAs were won by the PDP in addition to Ede North and Ede South.

Ayedire, Ifedayo, Ife Central, Ayedaade, Iwo, Olaoluwa, Isokan, Atakumosa East, Irewole, Ife South, and Ife East LGAs were won by the APC, in contrast.

The award-winning Nigerian artist David Adeleke, also known as Davido, and Adeleke were reportedly seen in a video celebrating an early lead as the counting began.

In the meantime, there was hysterical celebration in the PDP Situation Room as the PDP declared victory in the election even before the official results were made public.

No less than 15 political parties participated in the Osun governorship election, contrary to popular belief that it was a two-horse contest between Governor Adegboyega Oyetola and Senator Adeleke.

Accord Party's Akin Ogunbiyi, the Labour Party's Lasun Yusuff, the Social Democratic Party's Oyegoke Omigbodun, the African Action Congress' Segun Awojide, the Action Democratic Party's Kehinde Atanda, the Allied Peoples Movement's Awoyemi Lukuman, the All Peoples Party's Adebayo Elisha, and the Boot Party's Adeleke Adedapo were

Additionally running in the election were Rasaq Saliu of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, Abede Samuel of the National Rescue Movement, Ayowole Adedeji of the Peoples Redemption Party, Ademola Adeseye of the Young Peoples Party, and Adesuyi Olufemi of the Zenith Labour Party.

There was a significant voter turnout and the election, which was held in 3,763 units across the state's 30 LGAs, was relatively calm.

A total of 1,479,595 Permanent Voter Cards were gathered before to the election out of the 1,955,657 registered voters in the state.

In addition to the military and the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, the Inspector General of Police, Usman Baba Alkali, had sent roughly 21,000 police officers to maintain calm in the state.


Post a Comment


Start a discussion...

Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !