President Vladimir Putin acknowledges the independence of two regions of Ukraine.


President Vladimir Putin acknowledges the independence of two regions of Ukraine.
In presidential decrees released late on September 29, Russian President Vladimir Putin acknowledged the independence of the Ukrainian provinces of Zaporizhzhia and Kherson.

In the decrees, Putin stated that he "orders the recognition of the state sovereignty and independence" of the southern Ukrainian regions of Zaporizhzhia and Kherson. On Friday, Russia will formally annex these two regions, along with Donetsk and Lugansk.

Following hurriedly-convened referendums in the Russian-occupied regions, which claimed majorities of up to 99 percent in favor of joining Russia, the two regions are scheduled to be incorporated into Russia alongside the self-declared republics of Donetsk and Luhansk at a lavish ceremony in the Kremlin on Friday. In February, Putin acknowledged Donetsk and Luhansk's "independence."

With a threat of a "severe" response, Kiev declared that the annexation votes would not deter its armed troops from attempting to retake its forcibly taken area. Russia, for its part, promises to use all legal means, including nuclear weapons, to protect all of its territory, including recently seized provinces.

While UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres warned that if Russia goes ahead with its ambitions to annex the four Ukrainian regions, it will be a "dangerous escalation," President Joe Biden vowed that the US will never recognize Russia's claims on Ukraine's sovereign territory.

It occurs in the wake of accusations that two Russian pipelines under the Baltic Sea that were intended to supply natural gas to Europe were sabotaged.


Post a Comment


Start a discussion...

Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !